A pet en l’air

I didn’t document making this one until now. And it’s a bit of a trial run for a francaise. The pattern is actually identical to the francaise pattern I would work with if I was making one. (Janet Arnold’s Francaise with a compere stomacher, scaled up to my height and shortened to hip length.)

It’s been easier than I thought it would be, aside from something really funny… I worked with two yards of leftover silk taffeta. This went well until I hit to trim. But then I had a very specific idea of the trim. So I basically went through the jacket itself in a weekend and am stuck on the issue of the trim for two weeks. I have the sleeve ruffles so far and this:

pet en l'air

Obviously things have not gone to plan….

Leave a Reply

